MAY I JOIN YOUR CHURCH? WHY NOT?


Here is a problem which affects EvangelicaIs much more than Orthhodox, Catholics, or even Anglicans. With the first two groups, their theologies and practices are more uniform with in the denomination, and their adherents are much more likely to have similar expectations as to practices.

North American Anglicans are quite splintered, and can suffer similar problems. Their possible problems are not quite so varied as with Evangelicals.  Problem areas are generally found only in three or four theological or ministerial act areas.

Mainline Protestants also do not usually have such a variety of problems.  There, however, can be extreme variations among individual congregations.  These variations will generally let visitors know right away if they can relate. Visitors often know before hand if a congregation belongs to a group which will reject the visitor’s views.

I thought this was a fascinating view into a difficulty encountered in evangelism efforts.

I found this on ECLECTIC  CHRISTIAN, May 5, 2010.

In Support of Open Membership

He found it first published at internetmonk.com. Feel free to comment here or join the already extensive discussion at internetmonk.com.

I find it difficult to belong. You would think it wouldn’t be that hard. I am a Christian who sees many positive things in many traditions. If feel quite comfortable in many types of church settings. I am however, in my core beliefs, an Evangelical.

The problem is that where I live, Evangelicals are in the minority. In my community of 27,000 there is one Evangelical church. I helped start it. It was a Pentecostal church, and although I am not Pentecostal I figured that having one Evangelical church in town was better than having no Evangelical church, and so I offered my help.

My wife and I served under two Pastors there. We led worship, served on the leadership team, served on the pastoral search committee, taught Sunday School, and organized outreaches and banquets. All the while I was dreading the time when the church would become large enough to receive its “organized” status. For when the church received this status, membership would have to be formalized. We didn’t qualify. Membership required agreement to the statement of faith, and we didn’t believe the Pentecostal teaching on tongues.

Eventually we felt God calling us away from this church community, and we had a very amicable parting of the ways. We ended up at a church in another community, which unfortunately due to competing visions within it’s elder’s board, ending up closing its doors three years later. As we looked at other churches, most had something in their statement of faith, that excluded us. They were either too Calvinist, or too dispensational, or too anti-Charismatic for us to fit.

After a long search we found a church in a third community. We quite love it, and I have some very good things to say about it. Again, we didn’t qualify for membership, this time because my wife’s mode of baptism differed slightly from theirs. Although we do not believe in rebaptism (especially for those who have already been baptized as believers), our desire to belong eventually became stronger that our distaste for rebaptism and my wife was rebaptized. We became members shortly afterwards.

Are there others like me who have difficulty belonging? Conversations with people at places like Internetmonk.com make me think that my experience is hardly unique. So here are some questions I would like us to consider:

1. Does requiring agreement with a statement of faith lead to increased fragmentation within the body of Christ?

2. Or are there essentials that need to be agreed upon no matter what in order for someone to be accepted as a member?

3. If Christ has accepted me as a member of his body, are there ways to make it easier for me to be accepted into a local church body?

4. Could we lessen the requirement of membership in many evangelical churches, so that prospective members do not have to give complete agreement to a statement of faith, but instead will agree to uphold it and not teach contrary to it?

5. Are there similar situations in other faith traditions? If so, are there resolution that have been seen to work?

6. Finally, what could you do in your church to help people in my situation become part of your congregation and membership?

I don’t have a problem with a church having a statement of faith. I feel it is a good tool to say “this is what we are about as a church.” Is it not possible to say that “We welcome those who have slightly differing viewpoints” as long as they agree to uphold and abide by the statement of faith”?

About Fr. Orthohippo

The blog of a retired Anglican priest (MSJ), his musings, journey, humor, wonderment, and comments on today's scene.
This entry was posted in Anglican, catholic, christian, episcopal-anglican, methodist, missions, orthodox, Pentecostal, theology, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MAY I JOIN YOUR CHURCH? WHY NOT?

  1. Yeah and next we’ll be debating oil spills! 🙂

Leave a Reply

