Facebook harassing priests and monastics who use “Father” or “Mother” in their name.


Calvary___Veronese
Just a foretaste of what is to come to Christians here in the USA. Yahoo often acts as a bell weather for social shifts.
Fr. Orthohippohippo cartoon
 
Timothy Doubblestein added a Post in Missionaries of St. John.
“I was reading Rod Dreher’s blog over on The American Conservative today and found this troubling post.

“An Orthodox priest, Father John Whiteford, messaged me on Facebook today to ask a couple of questions, but the messages showed up on my screen as having been removed for either being spam or “abusive.” When I tried to contact him via Facebook, I saw that he no longer had an account. I found his e-mail address and wrote to him to ask what he wanted, and what on earth he could have said to have been kicked off of Facebook.

 

“I was reading Rod Dreher’s blog over on The American Conservative today and found this troubling post. (This post comes from Fr. Tim Doublestein who was messaged.)

“An Orthodox priest, Father John Whiteford, messaged me on Facebook today to ask a couple of questions, but the messages showed up on my screen as having been removed for either being spam or “abusive.” When I tried to contact him via Facebook, I saw that he no longer had an account. I found his e-mail address and wrote to him to ask what he wanted, and what on earth he could have said to have been kicked off of Facebook.

He wrote back (and gives me permission to post here):

My account was disabled because Facebook is harassing priests and monastics who use “Father” or “Mother” in their name. First, I was forced to delete “Fr.” from my name, and then “Archpriest”, and this time, because I switched to “FrJohn”, they have sent me a message that I have provide them with photo ID to prove that I am using the name that I actually go by in real life.

After submitting the required ID along with a letter asking them what the hell was wrong with them, I was told that I would be notified by e-mail of their decision.

This is the cyber equivalent of the communists forbidding clergy from wearing clerical attire in public.

The message I sent you was my thought that we should begin to speak of those on the otherside of the gay marriage war as “Progressive Totalitarians” or “Progressive Fascists”, because the play on the word “progressive” is very descriptive of the unfolding reality.”

If this is the case I’m definitely going to be using this forum more and more.”

About Fr. Orthohippo

The blog of a retired Anglican priest (MSJ), his musings, journey, humor, wonderment, and comments on today's scene.
This entry was posted in christian, cultural blinders, media bias, persecution, politics, prejudice, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

